Barbados and Dominica have become the 68th and 69th countries to ratify the Arms Trade Treaty. Their ratifications guarantee them full decision making powers at the First Conference of States Parties and will bring the total number of CARICOM States Parties to 12. All CARICOM governments have signed the Treaty. With the deadline to become a State Party before the First Conference of States Parties passing today, the stage is now set for the CSP where critical ATT decisions will be made.

Folade Mutota of the Caribbean Coalition for Development and Reduction of Armed Violence welcomed the strong support from her region, saying “we are proud that now all 14 members of Caricom have joined the ATT, and 12 have ratified.”

Share this post:

Verified by MonsterInsights